Karkki & herkku is a candy store located in Salo. They where one of our practice customers. We where asked to take basic photos of the some taffy bars and a new Kool aid flavours they had got.

Firstly I looked at the style they had been taking photos. Most of their photos where taken with a phone and not styled so I used their few that they had on their website as inspiration. Looking through them I new I wanted the photo to be colour full and expressive.

I wasn’t really feeling my sketches so I just chose the colour used for the backgrounds and explored when taking photos.

We also got candy canes as props for the photoshoot.

Here are some of my favourite out comes and mistakes and edits

Most of my photos where taken a bit too close so when editing it looked poor when fixing issues. My focus especially in the beginning photos was at the wrong place. Most of these photos have poor lighting and are dark. With editing you get the colors to pop out but while making these, we probably should have used a different background colour. The contrast between the pink and the Kool-Aid was too little and makes it seem mushy.

Here are two edited where it made a vibrant and brighter

Later looking at them I would still put the saturation down on the right picture. But other than that I am pleased with the outcome.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started